Written by 4:10 pm Theatre News

12th Annual Irish Times Theatre Awards

The Irish Times Theatre Awards took place in Dublin last night, a night which saw Lynne Parker (Rough Magic) pick up a special recognition award for her contribution to Irish theatre. Video highlights of the awards go out on TG4 this Wednesday evening at 11pm.

The list of winners includes

  • Special tribute award : Lynne Parker
  • Best actress : Derbhle Crotty ( Three Sisters , Abbey Theatre)
  • Best actor : Tom Vaughan Lawlor ( The Resistible Rise of Arturo Ui by Bertolt Brecht , Abbey Theatre)
  • Best supporting actor : Mikel Murfi ( The New Electric Ballroom , Druid)
  • Best supporting actress : Dearbhla Molloy ( The Cripple of Inishmaan , Druid and Atlantic Theatre)
  • Best director : Rupert Goold ( No Man’s Land , Gate Theatre)
  • Best production : Loose Canon ( Phaedra’s Love )
  • Best new play : The New Electric Ballroom (Druid Theatre Company)
  • Best opera : Mines of Sulphur , Wexford Opera.
  • Best costume design : Rae Smith ( An Ideal Husband , Abbey Theatre)
  • Best set designer : Owen MacCárthaigh ( Juno and the Paycock ; Cork Opera House/ Association of Regional Theatres, NI)
  • Best lighting designer : Kevin Treacy ( The Nose , The Performance Corporation)
  • Special award : Wexford Opera House.

For more, see this article in the Irish Times. Congratulations to all the winners last night!

(Visited 12 times, 1 visits today)